The Lahore Ahmadiyya Islamic Movement
Showing Islam is Peaceful • Tolerant • Rational • Inspiring
www.ahmadiyya.orgA Research and Educational Website
1. Islam
2. Ahmadiyya Movement

Refuting the Qadiani Beliefs

70 senior Ahmadis take oath that Hazrat Mirza did not change his claim
3. Publications & Resources

Contact us
Search the website

Related links:

Ayk Ghalati Ka Izala — translation and notes

Theory of change in claim in 1901, invented by M. Sana-ullah

70 senior Ahmadis take oath that Hazrat Mirza did not change his claim from muhaddas to prophet

In around 1915, shortly after the Split, the assertion was first made by the Qadianis that, in the pamphlet Ayk Ghalati Ka Izala (‘Correction of an error’) published in November 1901, Hazrat Mirza Ghulam Ahmad had announced that he claimed to be a prophet and that his previous denials of such a claim were now abrogated. To refute this assertion of a change in Hazrat Mirza's position in November 1901, seventy of his prominent followers who had taken the pledge into the Movement before that date, issued the following sworn public statement:

“We, the undersigned, declare on oath that when Hazrat Mirza Ghulam Ahmad of Qadian, the Founder of the Ahmadiyya Movement, announced in 1891, that the prophet Jesus was dead according to the Holy Quran, and that the ‘son of Mary’ whose advent among the Muslims was spoken of in Hadith was he [Hazrat Mirza] himself, he did not lay claim to prophethood. However, the Maulvis misled the public, and issued a fatwa of kufr against him by alleging that he claimed prophethood. After this, the Promised Messiah declared time after time in plain words, as his writings show, that to ascribe to him a claim of prophethood was a fabrication against him, that he considered prophethood to have come to a close with the Holy Prophet Muhammad, and that he looked upon a claimant to prophethood, after the Holy Prophet, as a liar and a kafir. And that the words mursal, rasul, and nabi which had occurred in some of his revelations, or the word nabi which had been used about the coming Messiah in Hadith, do not denote a prophet in actual fact, but rather a metaphorical, partial or zilli prophet who is known as a muhaddas. After the Khatam an-nabiyyin, the Holy Prophet Muhammad, no prophet can come, neither new nor old.

We also declare on oath that we entered into the pledge of the Promised Messiah before November 1901, and that the statements of Mirza Mahmud Ahmad, the head of the Qadian section, that though in the beginning Hazrat Mirza Sahib did not claim prophethood, but that he changed his claim in November 1901, and laid claim to prophethood on that date, and that his previous writings of ten or eleven years denying prophethood are abrogated — all this is entirely wrong and absolutely opposed to facts. We do swear by Allah that the idea never even entered our minds that the Promised Messiah made a change in his claim in 1901 or that his previous writings, which are full of denials of a claim to prophethood, were ever abrogated; nor, to our knowledge, did we ever hear such words from the mouth of even a single person until Mirza Mahmud Ahmad sahib made these statements. Allah is witness to what we have stated.”

Urdu text of the sworn statement:

The Lahore Ahmadiyya Jama‘at then issued a challenge to members of the Qadiani Jama‘at to make a counter declaration by testifying on oath that in November 1901 while being members of the Ahmadiyya Movement they came to know that Hazrat Mirza Ghulam Ahmad, by publishing Ayk Ghalati Ka Izala, was retracting his previous statements, of the ten-year period 1891 to 1901, in which he had clearly denied claiming prophethood and, as against this denial, claimed to be a muhaddas. No one, not even one person who was an Ahmadi in November 1901, was ever able to make this counter declaration.

List of signatories to the sworn statement:

1. (Maulvi) Sayyid Muhammad Ahsan Amrohi
2. (Maulvi) Muhammad Abdullah Khan Patialvi
3. (Maulvi) Muhammad Mubarak Ali (Sialkoti)
4. (Maulvi) Ghulam Hasan, sub-registrar, Peshawar
5. (Maulvi Hakim) Mirza Khuda Bakhsh, author of Asal Musaffa
6. (Maulvi) Muhammad Ali (Lahore)
7. (Maulvi) Muhammad Yahya (Debgaran)
8. (Maulvi) Muhammad Yaqub (Debgaran)
9. (Shaikh) Rahmatullah (Merchant, Lahore)
10. Dr. Mirza Yaqub Beg (Lahore)
11. Shaikh Ziaullah (former headmaster, Taleem-ul-Islam School, Qadian)
12. (Maulvi) Muhammad Hasan Quraishi, Qiladar
13. (Baba) Hidayatullah (poet Punjabi, Lahore)
14. (Mian) Nabi Bakhsh (Government Pensioner, Lahore)
15. Dr. Sayyid Tufail Husain (Lahore)
16. Mirza Jamal-ud-din, copyist (Lahore)
17. Shaikh Din Muhammad (Lahore)
18. (Master) Faqirullah (Lahore)
19. Dr. Nabi Bakhsh (Bhati Gate, Lahore)
20. Hafiz Fazl Ahmad (presently Badomalhi)
21. Hafiz Ghulam Rasul (Trader, Wazirabad)
22. Chaudhry Ghulam Hasan (former Station Master, resident of Lowairiwala)
23. Shaikh Ghulam Husain Siddiqi Ahmadi (Sialkot)
24. Shaikh Muhammad Jan (Merchant, Wazirabad)
25. Shaikh Abdur Rahman (Wazirabad)
26. (Maulvi) Aziz Bakhsh, B.A. (Dera Ghazi Khan)
27. Wali Muhammad, court reader (Dera Ghazi Khan)
28. (Master) Ghulam Muhammad, B.A. (Headmaster, Rawalpindi)
29. Hakim Sardar Khan (brother of the late Hakim Shah Nawaz, Rawalpindi)
30. (Seth) Ahmad-ud-din (former Municipal Commissioner, Jhelum)
31. Shaikh Qamar-ud-din (optician, Jhelum)
32. Mistri Abdus Sattar (Jhelum)
33. Shaikh Ghulam Muhayy-ud-din (appeal recorder, Jhelum)
34. (Maulvi) Muhammad Ibrahim (Imam mosque, Jhelum)
35. Dr. Hayat Muhammad (Tooth-maker, Rawalpindi)
36. Babu Allah Bakhsh (Officers' Clerk, Jhelum)
37. Babu Abdul Haq (Clerk, Canal Department, Jhelum)
38. (Mistri) Abdul Sattar (Jhelum)
39. (Mistri) Yaqub Ali (Jammu)
40. Master Muhammad Ramzan (Jammu)
41. Malik Sher Muhammad Khan (B.A., Personal Assistant, Jammu)
42. Mufti Fazl Ahmad (Jammu)
43. (Mistri) Shahab-ud-din (Jammu)
44. Muhammad Shah (Jammu)
45. Nawab Khan (Jammu)
46. Sayyid Masud Shah (Teacher, Jammu)
47. (Mistri) Nizam-ud-din (Jammu)
48. Sayyid Amir Ali Shah (Pensioner sub-Inspector)
49. Shaikh Hidayatullah (Peshawar)
50. Ramzan Ali (Peshawar)
51. Mian Muhammad Makki (Peshawar)
52. Sayyid Lal Shah Barq (Peshawar)
53. Shaikh Fazl Karim (Peshawar)
54. (Munshi) Nawab Khan (sub-Inspector Police, Gujranwala)
55. Shaikh Maula Bakhsh (Sialkot)
56. Hakim Shams-ud-din (Sialkot)
57. Mian Boora (Sialkot)
58. Allah Din (Sialkot)
59. Shaikh Muhammad Jan (Trader, Sialkot Cantonment)
60. Babu Ata Muhammad (Engineer, Sialkot)
61. Mirza Hakim Beg (Sialkot)
62. Mistri Muhammad Akbar (Contractor, Sialkot)
63. Mistri Abdullah (Sialkot)
64. Muhammad-ud-din (Sialkot)
65. Haji Fazl-ud-din (Sialkot)
66. Sayyid Amjad Ali (Court Inspector)
67. (Dr.) Hasan Ali
68. Muhammad Sarfraz Khan (numberdar, Badomalhi)
69. Shaikh Muhammad Naseeb (former Head Clerk, Qadian)
70. Abdul Haq (Rawalpindi)